University of Texas at Austin

How It Works

The President’s Award for Global Learning is the signature program of the International Board of Advisors and provides funding to student teams to take on international projects.

01 Form a Team

Teams are comprised of 2-4 students from different majors, one faculty leader and up to two faculty mentors, and an international partner.

02 Select a Region

There are 3 eligible regions, including Latin America and the Caribbean; Europe, Middle East, and Africa; and Asia and Oceania.

03 Choose a Topic

Projects can be proposed within three themes: expanding existing research, social impact, or entrepreneurship.

Ocean view during sunset in Sydney, Australia.

Form a Team

Teams are comprised of 2-4 students from different majors, one faculty leader and up to two faculty mentors from different departments. International students are eligible and encouraged to participate. Project teams can be formed in various ways:

  • A faculty member identifies students and additional faculty to comprise a team around a particular project leveraging existing international relationships.

  • Student-initiative teams approach faculty members to serve as faculty leads/mentors for their project idea.

  • Texas Global can introduce faculty and students based on interest and project ideas.

Select a Region

Projects must be located in one of three eligible regions. Two projects per region will be selected to receive the award. The regions, identified by the International Board of Advisors, include Latin America and the Caribbean; Europe, Middle East, and Africa; and Asia and Oceania.

All proposals must adhere to the UT International Travel Policy. The countries listed should be cross-checked with the UT Restricted Regions List. Teams proposing projects in countries on the Restricted Regions List are encouraged to seek advice on travel compliance from the Global Risk and Safety team in Texas Global.

« 7 Regions »

South America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

Central America, Mexico, & the Caribbean

Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic,  El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Martin, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago

South/Southeast Asia and Oceania

Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Laos, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Federated States of, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New, Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri, Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam

East Asia

China, Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, Mongolia, Republic of Korea, Taiwan

Middle East, North Africa & Central Asia

Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, State of Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, West Bank

Europe, Russia, and the Caucasus

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City

Sub-Saharan Africa

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial, Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Choose a Topic

Proposals must align with one of the following three topic areas.

Expanding Existing Research

Student-driven projects in which the teams’ research or anticipated findings contribute significantly to advancing knowledge in scholarly disciplines or field. Ideally, these projects will leverage the breadth and depth of UT’s research capabilities and existing strengths.

Social Impact

An achievable initiative that will positively impact a social challenge to improve the quality of life in a sustainable way for members of a community in one of the eligible regions.


Create value through a new venture that brings together ideas, people, and capital, as well as other enabling mechanisms, in service of benefiting all stakeholders.

Project Examples »

Award Selection

Four finalists will be selected per region and announced in the Fall semester following proposal submission. Finalists will present to a committee appointed by the university president. Six teams, two for each region, will be selected for the distinguished award.