University of Texas at Austin

Leadership & Projects

The President’s Award for Global Learning is the inaugural program of the International Board of Advisors and is administered through the collaborative efforts of the President’s Office, the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, and Texas Global.

2023-2024 Program Profiles

Peace wall in Belfast with colorful art on a tree lined street

Leading with Peace: Lessons from Northern Ireland

Faculty team members:
  • Noël Busch-Armendariz, Ph.D., LMSW, MPA, University Presidential Professor, Steve Hicks School of Social Work and Director of the Institute on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
  • Bruce Kellison, Ph.D., Director of the Bureau of Business Research at the IC2 Institute, and co-director of the Institute on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
  • Monica Martinez, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
International partner:
  • Corrymeela, Ballycastle, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Monach butterflies in bright blue sky

Lives in Motion: Human and Animal Migration in Times of Environmental Change

Faculty team members:
  • Adela Pineda, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts, and Director of The Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies
  • Octavio Kano-Galván, Assistant Professor of Practice, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Moody College of Communications
  • Boris Corredor, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
International partners:
  • Ximena Londoño-Pava, founder and director of El Paraíso del Bambú y la Guadua, Montenegro, Colombia
  • Isabel Ramírez Ramírez, Centro de Investigaciones en Geografía Ambiental at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, in affiliation with Alternare, Michoacán, Mexico
  • Dr. Camila Gómez M, Director of Education, SELVA: Investigación para la Conservación en el Neotrópico
Shibuya crossing in Tokyo, Japan at night with building lit up and blurry image of pedestrians crossing

The Sustainable and Resilient Smart City in Japan

Faculty team members:
  • Junfeng Jiao, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Architecture
  • Ming Zhang, Ph.D., Professor and Program Director of Community and Regional Planning, School of Architecture
  • Junko Hatanaka, MA, MS, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Asian Studies, College of Liberal Arts
International partner:
  • Tokyo Metropolitan University, Tokyo, Japan Hand holding cup of water under faucet outside

Water Scarcity in Kenya: Decentralized Desalination Using Renewable Energy

Faculty team members: 

  • Manish Kumar, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Lucy Atkinson, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Stan Richards School of Advertising, Moody College of Communication
  • Patrick Bixler, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs

International Partner:

  • South Eastern Kenya University, Kitui, Kenya

2022-2023 Program Profiles

School students smile while holding papers at a school in Peru

Literacy Development in Peru

Faculty team members:

  • Desirée Pallais-Downing, PhD, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
  • Patience Epps, PhD, Professor, Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts

International partner:

  • Cayetano Heredia University, Lima, Peru

Student team members:

  • Antonella Anderson – Plan II, Psychology, Madelyn Hajovsky – Linguistics, Caden Martin – English, History, Jenna Pipkin – Bilingual Education
  • Paola Gon – Psychology, Meera Hatangadi – Plan II, Corporate Communication, Frances Parra – International Business, Karla Rojas – Bilingual Education
  • Sabrina Chuan – Marketing, Saneeva George – Nutrition, Zaina Ghaffar – Speech-Language Pathology, Nutrition, Hanna Kang – International Relations and Global Studies
  • Zofia Graham – Linguistics, Plan II, Gloriel Kazadi – Psychology, Youth and Community Studies, Nioni Ledzma – Religious Studies

Woman donates her blood in a street point in Kampala, Uganda.

Wound Care in Kenya

Faculty team members:

  • Julie Zuniga, PhD, RN, Associate Professor, School of Nursing
  • Janet Ellzey, PhD, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering

International partner:

  • Moi University, Eldoret, Kenya

Student team members:

  • Megha Bhatia – Plan II, Health and Society, Shawn Fan –  Nursing, Austin Kayanan –  Mechanical Engineering, Carolina Ponce – Mechanical Engineering
  • Sweccha Guntamukkala – Neuroscience, Isabel Richards – Mechanical Engineering, Arielle Warren -Nursing
  • Daniel Guerra – Architecture, Lauren Guerra-Flores – Plan II, Architecture, Mackenzie Noell – Plan II, Computational Biology, Meron Teferi – Public Health
  • Reha Kakkar – Plan II, Neuroscience, Divine Kalu – Public Health, Britney Tran – International Relations and Global Studies, Government
View Past Projects »

Program Administration

Stephanie Cushey

Senior Administrative Program Coordinator

Laura Caloudas headshot

Laura Caloudas

Assistant Director of Experiential Learning, Education Abroad

Sonia Feigenbaum Headshot

Sonia Feigenbaum, Ph.D.

Senior Vice Provost for Global Engagement and Chief International Officer

Margaret Rieley

Administrative Associate,
Texas Global